24th

Processed with VSCO with 6 preset

My 23rd year has been so good to me. 2016 has got to be one of the best years of my life. A lot of things happened – good and bad. I couldn’t imagine all the new adventures I was able to experience. As awkward as I am, I was able to meet a lot of new friends that I know for sure would be part of my life for a long time.

A month after I turned 23, I had to face a new life that I thought was dreadful at first. Change is good but it’s hard to break routine. I was so scared to leave my comfort zone because I was already starting to get used to how I was living then. It all came so fast that it felt like a blur. It was like being thrown into some place unfamiliar, unarmed, and you’re there panicking not knowing what to do. But I slowly adjusted. I had to do things on my own because who else would do it for me? I learned to start saving, something I never cared to do before the big move. I mean, what would I spend it on, right? I didn’t have friends. I only had my mom who was working 24/7.  It was sleep, eat, work for a while.

I consider myself very lucky. I didn’t go through a lot to get here. A month after moving, I found a job. Other people would spend 3 months just looking for a job while I spent 2 days looking through ads. I found one, applied, got scheduled for an interview, and then bam I got hired. Lucky, right?

I started new hobbies – rowing and hiking. I met more people of different races and I came to understand and accept the different kinds of cultures. I also started to live a healthy life. I went back to the gym and tried (TRIED) to eat clean. Alas, food is life. I can never stop being a foodie. This year, I made a promise that come 2017,  I will work harder at being as healthy as I can be.

Fast-forward to 11 months and guess what? No regrets. All the decisions I’ve made, stupid or not, led me to where I am now. I know it’s not really that much but it’s something I didn’t think I would be able to do. All the firsts I experienced this year will always be remembered. To the people who helped me pop my bubble, thank you. Thank you for pulling me out of my shell and making me see how big the world is and showing me the many opportunities there are for me still to take.

On my 24th year, I promise to live an even fuller and more vibrant life. I was back to square one, but everybody’s got to start somewhere, right?

All my love,
Michelle 122616

Leave a Reply

